People

2021-07 [L to R: Sam Mendez, Matt Newman, Patricia Loughney, Jerry Gourdin, Catrina Wilson, Paul Cuillier, Amanda Gibson, Sedzro Tamakloe, Sogol Lotfi, Mohamed Nawwar, Vicky Doan-Nguyen]

Vicky Doan-Nguyen, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

Affiliations:

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (courtesy)

Prof. Vicky Doan-Nguyen is an Assistant Professor in the Departments of Materials Science & Engineering and Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering. She joined OSU in August 2017 as part of the Discovery Themes’ Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability Initiative. As part of OSU’s Center for Electron Microscopy and Analysis (CEMAS), her cross-cutting research includes synthesis, in-situ structural characterization, and functional testing of smart materials as well as advanced materials for energy storage and conversion. Before joining OSU, she was a UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellow at UCSB with Prof. Ram Seshadri and Bruce Dunn (UCLA). She received her Ph.D. at the University of Pennsylvania working in the Christopher Murray Group and B.S. in Chemistry (2nd major: Women’s and Gender Studies) at Yale University. She has been recognized by the American Physical Society with the Ovshinsky Sustainable Energy Fellowship, the American Crystallographic Association with the Margaret C. Etter Lecturer Award and the Oak Ridge Associated Universities Ralph E. Power Junior Faculty Enhancement Award. VDN is also spearheading and contributing to projects on development of K-12 STEM education in the Columbus area and beyond.

Gerald (Jerry) Gourdin, Ph.D.

gourdin.1@osu.edu

2019.11 - present

Paul Cuillier

cuillier.1@osu.edu

2019.08 - present

Amanda Gibson

gibson.1065@osu.edu

2017.11 - present

Patricia Loughney

loughney.4@osu.edu

2019.08 - present

Samantha (Sam) Mendez

mendez.144@osu.edu

2020.08 - present

Mohamed Nawwar

nawwar.1@osu.edu

2020.08 - present

Matt Newman

newman.579@osu.edu

2021.01 - present

N. Sedzro Tamakloe

tamakloe.3@osu.edu

2020.08 - present

Catrina Wilson

wilson.3981@osu.edu

2018.08 - present

Alumni


[12] Sogol Lotfi, Ph.D., 2020.9 - 2021.7

Position after departure: Nissan


[11] Dustin Goetz, 2017.11-2020.5, OSU MAE B.S. 2020,

Position after graduating: University of California, Santa Barbara Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering Graduate Research Assistant, NSF GRFP 2020 Recipient


[10] Patrice Crosby, 2019.5-2020.4, OSU Chemistry B.S. 2020

Position after graduating: Cornell University Fiber Science M.S. Graduate Research Assistant


[9] Joshua Argo, 2018.1-2020.1. OSU MSE B.S. 2019

Position after graduating: Lynntech Engineer


[8] Shawn Ren, 2019.5-2019.10 OSU MAE B.S. 2020

Position after graduating: Rice University Mechanical Engineering M.S.


[7] Jacob O’Connor, 2019.6-2019.8 OSU CSE B.S. 2021


[6] Jenna Bustos, 2019.5-2019.8, New Mexico Highlands University (REU) Chemistry B.S 2020

Position after graduating: Oregon State University Ph.D. Chemistry Graduate Research Assistant, NSF GRFP Honorable Mention, GEM Fellow


5] Kevin Tran, 2018.6-2019.5 OSU CBE B.S. 2021


[4]Aniv Ray, 2018.6, 2018.8, Columbus Academy High School


[3] Fatima Bainazar, 2018.1-2018.5 Metro High School Junior


[2] Andrew Noble, 2018.6-2018.7 OSU CBE B.S. 2020


[1] Chengji Zhang, 2018.1-2018.7, OSU MSE